First a Physician Award

Posted in Organization

First a Physician AwardEstablished in 2007 under the West Metro Medical Society, the "First a Physician" Award recognizes a member of the Twin Cities Medical Society who selflessly gives of his/her time and energy to improve the health of their patients, has made a positive impact on organized medicine and the medical community's ability to practice quality medicine, and/or has been instrumental in improving the lives of others in our community.

Through the dedicated and untiring service to the profession of medicine, the candidate has not been previously recognized either via award or leadership position. This unsung hero has made an outstanding contribution to community service; worked on public policy issues; played a significant role in the goals and activities of the Twin Cities Medical Society; or other noteworthy (local) volunteer medical service.

Nominations due by December 1, 2017.

Nominations Can be Submitted via Fax, Mail or Email:
Address: 1300 Godward Street NE, Ste 2000, Mpls, MN 55413
Fax#:  612.623.2888
Email:  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.  

More information can be viewed in the First a Physician Award Brochure
Download Nomination Form

Who can make a nomination?

Members of the Twin Cities Medical Society may nominate candidates for the First a Physician Award

Who is eligible to receive the award?
Members of the Twin Cities Medical Society are eligible to receive the First a Physician Award

Who will select the recipient?
The Twin Cities Medical Society Executive Committee shall annually review the slate of nominees and select the recipient of the award. 

Noteworthy contributions in the following areas will be considered:
*Effective Leadership
*Involvement in improving the public health; or
*Policy and/or legislative advocacy resulting in a positive impact on the practice of medicine or a healthier community

Award Recipients:

2016 - Kenneth Kephart, MD
2015 - Charles Crutchfield, III, MD
2014 - Peter Dehnel, MD
2013 - Sanne Magnan, MD, Phd
2012 - James Jordan, MD

2011 - Robert Geist, MD
2010 - Amos Deinard, MD
2009 - Frank S. Rhame, MD
2008 - Carl E. Burkland, MD
2007 - Lee H. Beecher, MD 

2015-01-12 20.54.06Dr. Kephart (right) presents the First a Physician award to Dr. Peter Dehnel (left)
at the 2015 Annual Board of Directors Dinner

Stay Connected

  Like us on Facebook!       tw icon       email icon

Contact TCMS

1300 Godward Street NE, #2000
Minneapolis, MN 55413
612.623.2885  •  Email Us