TCMS Updates


Patricia F. Walker, M.D., DTM&H, FASTMH Receives Shotwell Award

Posted in TCMS Updates

The 2016 Shotwell Award was presented to Patricia F. Walker, MD, DTM&H, FASTMH, at the January 10, 2017 annual meeting of the Abbott Northwestern Medical Staff. Chris J. Johnson, M.D., chair of the Twin Cities Medical Society Foundation presented the award.

The Shotwell Award is presented annually to a person within the state of Minnesota who has made significant contributions in the field of health care.

Dr. Walker is a nationally recognized expert on refugee and immigrant health. A graduate of Mayo Medical School and Mayo Graduate School of Medicine, she is a Professor, division of Infectious Disease and International Health at the U of M, and an Adjunct Professor in the School of Public Health, Division of Epidemiology and Community Health. For 23 years Dr. Walker served as the medical director of the HealthPartners Center for International Health, a nationally known refugee and immigrant health clinic. She is now pursuing more research and teaching interests as the Associate Program Director for the Global Health Pathway in the Department of Medicine at the University of Minnesota, while also continuing to provide patient care at the Center for International Health.

Dr. Walker is Board Certified in Internal Medicine and holds a Certificate of Knowledge in Traveler’s Health from the International Society of Travel Medicine; a Certificate of Knowledge in Clinical Tropical Medicine & Traveler’s Health from the American Society of Tropical Medicine & Hygiene, and Diploma in Tropical Medicine & Hygiene from London School of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene. She has worked internationally with refugees in Thailand, with both the American Refugee Committee and the International Rescue Committee and speaks fluent Thai and Cambodian.
On January 1st she was inducted as the 113th President of the American Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene as its 6th female President, an organization with a goal of reducing global health disparities and alleviating suffering due to tropical infectious diseases.

Dr. Walker was instrumental in developing best practices in care for refugees and immigrants in Minnesota while chairing the Minnesota Immigrant Health Task Force in 2002-2004. These best practices are now being shared nationally and internationally. In addition, she co-edited the medical textbook on immigrant medicine, the first of its kind.

Presenting the award, Dr. Johnson stated, “In recognition of her passion and leadership to respect, honor, and educate her colleagues and the community on refugee and immigrant health, I am honored to present the 2016 Shotwell Award to Patricia F. Walker, M.D.

The Shotwell Award was established by Metropolitan Medical Center in 1971 in recognition of the support and dedication of the Shotwell Family. Upon the closing of Metropolitan-Mount Sinai Medical Center in 1991, the West Metro Medical Society/Foundation assumed responsibility for selecting the recipient of the Shotwell Award. Abbott Northwestern Hospital and Medical Staff has generously provided funding for the Shotwell Award since 2003. A plaque recognizing all the award recipients resides in the Sister Kenny Pavilion on the Abbott Northwestern campus.

Stay Connected

  Like us on Facebook!       tw icon       email icon

Contact TCMS

1300 Godward Street NE, #2000
Minneapolis, MN 55413
612.623.2885  •  Email Us