TCMS Updates


Matthew A. Hunt, M.D. Installed as TCMS Board President

Posted in TCMS Updates

On Tuesday, January 17, Matthew A. Hunt, MD was installed as the 2017 President of Twin Cities Medical Society, succeeding the helm from Carolyn McClain, MD. Nearly 80 TCMS physicians and guests, representing TCMS Board, TCMS Foundation Board, and all TCMS committees and work groups participated in the event at Surly Brewing. Dr. Hunt received his medical degree from the University of Louisville School of Medicine, Kentucky; completed a surgery internship, neurosurgery residency, and fellowship in Neurosurgical Oncology at Oregon Health & Science University in Portland, OR; and served as a Clinical Fellow in Neurosurgery at The National Hospital for Neurology and Neurosurgery, London, UK. Dr. Hunt is an Associate Professor, Program Director, Neurosurgery Residency Program and Co-Director, Joint Orthopedic/Neurosurgery Spine Fellowship at the University of Minnesota.

Representative Joe Schomacker (R), 22A, Chair Health & Human Services Reform Committee, served as the keynote speaker outlining his legislative priorities and voicing “ardent support” for continuing the work and outreach efforts of Honoring Choices Minnesota.

Ken Kephart, MD was presented (in absentia) with the First a Physician Award. Dr. Kephart is a past president of TCMS and currently serves as Medical Director of Honoring Choices Minnesota.

Closing out the evening was comedian, Stevie Ray, providing humor, while poking fun at non-Minnesotans.

Stay Connected

  Like us on Facebook!       tw icon       email icon

Contact TCMS

1300 Godward Street NE, #2000
Minneapolis, MN 55413
612.623.2885  •  Email Us