Sanne Magnan, MD, PhD 2017 Shotwell Award 2.jpg


The Twin Cities Medical Society and Twin Cities Medical Society Foundation administers a number of awards and scholarships each year to physicians and community members who have demonstrated outstanding contribution to medicine and health in Minnesota. For any questions regarding awards and scholarships, please contact Nancy Bauer at

Charles Bolles Bolles-Rogers Award

The late Mr. Charles Bolles Bolles-Rogers established this award, originally called the St. Barnabas Bowl, in 1951. Mr. Bolles-Rogers served on the St. Barnabas Hospital Board of Trustees and was President of that Board for many years.

Mr. Bolles-Rogers died in 1975 at the age of 91 but prior to his death, he made provision for this award to be funded in perpetuity. This award is awarded through the Twin Cities Medical Society Foundation.

How to Nominate a Physician
The Chiefs of Staff of the Twin Cities area hospitals and Clinic Administrators/Leadership make nominations for the Charles Bolles Bolles-Rogers Award annually. The Twin Cities Medical Society Foundation Board of Directors has the honor of selecting the recipient. Download nomination form.

Candidates for this “Physician of Excellence” award are nominated by their colleagues at Twin City area hospitals and/or clinics for achievement or leadership in medicine, contributions to clinical care, teaching and/or research. This candidate is considered to be an outstanding physician by his or her peers.

The award is presented to the recipient by the Officers of the Twin Cities Medical Society Foundation and the Twin Cities Medical Society at a medical staff meeting at the recipient’s hospital, clinic or other appropriate forum.

Nominations will be due July 31, 2019. Nominate your colleague today!

View a list of past awardees in our Charles Bolles Bolles-Rogers Award brochure.

First a Physician Award

Established in 2007 under the West Metro Medical Society, the "First a Physician" Award recognizes a member of the Twin Cities Medical Society who selflessly gives of his/her time and energy to improve the health of their patients, has made a positive impact on organized medicine and the medical community's ability to practice quality medicine, and/or has been instrumental in improving the lives of others in our community.

Through the dedicated and untiring service to the profession of medicine, the candidate has not been previously recognized either via award or leadership position. This unsung hero has made an outstanding contribution to community service; worked on public policy issues; played a significant role in the goals and activities of the Twin Cities Medical Society; or other noteworthy (local) volunteer medical service.

How to Nominate a Physician

Members of the Twin Cities Medical Society are eligible to receive the First a Physician Award, and may be nominated by a member of the Twin Cities Medical Society. The Twin Cities Medical Society Executive Committee shall annually review the slate of nominees and select the recipient of the award.

Noteworthy contributions in the following areas will be considered:

  • Effective Leadership

  • Involvement in improving the public health; or

  • Policy and/or legislative advocacy resulting in a positive impact on the practice of medicine or a healthier community

Nominations are due December 1, 2018.

Shotwell Award

Upon the closing of Metropolitan-Mount Sinai Medical Center in 1991, the Hennepin Medical Society now Twin Cities Medical Society) was designated the responsibility for selecting the recipient of The Shotwell Award. The award, a bronze sculpture entitled"Asclepius and Hygieia" was created by Nicholas Legeros of Minneapolis, MN in 2007.

The Shotwell Award was established by Metropolitan Medical Center in 1971 in recognition of the support and dedication of the Shotwell Family. The late Mr. and Mrs. James D. Shotwell established the Louise Shotwell Smith Leukemia Fund for research and the Louise Shotwell Smith and Grace R. Shotwell Nursing Scholarship Funds, of Metropolitan Medical Center. Their gifts to the hospital amounted to more than $670,000.

Wording on a plaque now located on the Courage Kenny Pavilion on the campus of Abbott Northwestern Hospital reads:

The Shotwell Award, established in honor of Mr. and Mrs. James D. Shotwell for their contributions to the hospital, is presented yearly for a noteworthy effort in the field of health care. This award is awarded through the Twin Cities Medical Society Foundation.

This award is presented to a person within the state of Minnesota for a noteworthy effort in the field of health care, including dedicated service to mankind; significant contribution to the field of medicine; significant break-through in some form of research; or innovations and/or improvements in health care delivery. This award is not limited to physicians or other professionals in the health care field.

Nominations will be due Summer, 2019.

Twin Cities Medical Society Medical Student Scholarship

Twin Cities Medical Society Foundation is honored to award an annual scholarship to a third year University of Minnesota Medical Student. T the recipient is selected by the University of Minnesota Foundation in recognition of proven leadership and achievement.